Back in the saddle again…

Long time, no blog. My kids are all back to school. The saga of the mamacita here when school starts up again is just a comedy of errors. Here’s the highlight reel:

The eldest stayed the summer in Spokane to work at the library…and didn’t need a ride back to campus. Only needed some furniture in early-August, which I happily delivered, just for a break from the McMansion filled with hungry teen boys…and their messes…

The newest “child”, our foreign exchange student Chau Dang – has been a lovely addition to the family – arrived August 15. I am utterly AMAZED at her total and complete ability to ignore the obvious chaos and mess around her, and just smile and cope. Yeah, sure, right, it’s a stereotype. But she assures her parents she likes our family, who then assure me that hosting her was NOT a stupid idea for a big family at all. And my little boys just love to hug her. And Maryellen has a fun partner at riling up Peter.

Eldest son returned to Benedictine and the social whirl…and I *miss* all his literary comments. But, I am so happy to hear how much fun he is having…busy and productive and coming up with some awesome history projects. More on that some other time. Also, he gets the prize for easiest fall transition – put the boy on a plane and wave bye-bye.

Ah, the musician. We travelled 12 hours each way, and he got his first speeding ticket. Even mom didn’t see the colored lights  until it was too late…we were too busy chatting. Oh, and by the way, it is NOT easier to leave that kid behind just because he is number 3 in the lineup. Tears shed with each departure. If you didn’t cry when you left your kid at college, well, I am just sorry for you. Gosh do we miss them…

So, now we have the three high schoolers and the three Catholic school kids. Now that all the sports physicals are done (oh wait, just one more), the academic decisions are made, the activities are chosen, and the music lessons are scheduled and the permission slips signed and checks written and the bus schedule figured out…they leave every day about the same time, and I sit there in my quiet house…sipping coffee and reading the paper.

Whew – I made it! (And yeah, I did gloss over the details of getting everyone into the routine, because, really, did you want to know the screaming fishmonger’s wife side of my personality? No, you didn’t.)

Um, where is my husband in all this? Well, that is the one good thing about a college professor’s life. He had to work, so me had to drive…  S’ok – would you rather run logistics on 6 kids for an extended weekend or ride shotgun with Patrick cross country? Yeah, I thought so.

So, when the washer died last week, and he cheerfully offered to do all the laundry at the laundromat…yeah, he earned it! It’s quieter there. Love you, big guy!

About Kristen West Mcguire

I'm a wife and mom. Sometimes I work, and sometimes I homeschool and sometimes I just meddle, Although I worked at a military chapel for a few years and even taught CCD, most of my life I have been just a pew-sitting, kid-shushing Catholic mom. Since my conversion in 1992, I've been propositioned to join Opus Dei, Regnum Christi, the Neocatechumenal Way, Cum Christo (at least I think that is what Ultreya meant), and at least a few third orders, I just don't go for that extra stuff. I'm a Plain Jane Catholic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

