Quiet Summer Days

The crazy bustle around here has now relaxed into a more leisurely pace, with only the teens still keeping the schedule hopping every day. And they can drive themselves to their various appointments, so we just kick back. Yup, Dan is still working, and I am under deadline on a project (when am I not?) but at least we don’t have to get up and five, pack lunches and get kids scrambling out the door,  with a range of activity dropoffs and pickups looming.

The best thing about the past week has been getting back in touch with my “girls,” my friends who I don’t get to call often enough, and who make me laugh and help me navigate the wild schedule that threatens to overwhelm me… There is something calming about chatting with my friends on the phone, which I rarely have time for in the school year. I laugh more. Relax and enjoy the ride. Yup, God is still God in my chaotic world, sending me lots of support for the journey.

I have often thought over the past few years that I have lost my sense of priority, and that the work I do has overwhelmed me into being that crazed woman in “I Don’t Know How She Does It” (I actually liked the movie better than the book. The book was, um, less paced. And I always liked Sarah Jessica Parker, as an actress. She seems to do a good job of showing the zeitgeist.) But now, I am starting to see that I really am not that crazy woman. I am me, navigating my own life, doing my own special brand of crazy, my way. It isn’t unbalanced so much as it is a transition. 

I’m really not that overwhelmed. The cool thing that mommies of many discover as their kids get older is that you end up with this cool pack of young adults who are willing and eager to help. All those years of sitting on the floor, making them share and pick up toys together, nets you this amazing experience of seeing them become young adults who are not too cool to play with their little siblings…and also insisting that said siblings pick up, so mommy doesn’t have to. Talk about return on investment!!

See, this is the kicker – my girls know me. They know my struggles, they remember when. It really hasn’t been much time since I was sitting on the floor with my youngest toddlers. And my girls believed in my future then, and they are still cheering me on, even when I think I am overwhelmed. Because they know better. They are my reality check, the ones who I can trust to remind me that there were times much harder than these.

Probably most moms don’t have as much angst as I do about work-life balance. I am only getting started…next phase looms…just do it. But thanking God for my “girls,” because they understand, better than most, the full cost of the best investments I ever made.

 

About Kristen West Mcguire

I'm a wife and mom. Sometimes I work, and sometimes I homeschool and sometimes I just meddle, Although I worked at a military chapel for a few years and even taught CCD, most of my life I have been just a pew-sitting, kid-shushing Catholic mom. Since my conversion in 1992, I've been propositioned to join Opus Dei, Regnum Christi, the Neocatechumenal Way, Cum Christo (at least I think that is what Ultreya meant), and at least a few third orders, I just don't go for that extra stuff. I'm a Plain Jane Catholic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

